Established in 1895, the Northwestern University Bienen School of Music is one of the oldest degree-conferring music schools in the United States, and was one of the founding members of the National Association of Schools of Music. 

Degrees awarded by the Bienen School of Music include the Bachelor of Music, Bachelor of Arts in Music, Bachelor of Science in Music, Master of Music, and Doctor of Musical Arts. The PhD in Music Studies is administered by The Graduate School of Northwestern in conjunction with the Bienen School of Music.

In addition to the information contained in the Current Student section of our website, Bienen School students are required to comply with the policies in the Northwestern University Handbook. Degree requirements can be found in the Degree Checksheets and Forms section of our website and are also available from the Office of Student Affairs. Undergraduate students will find information on all Northwestern majors and degree requirements in the Undergraduate Catalog, while PhD students will find additional information through The Graduate School.

The academic and regulatory policies included in this section of the website are updated annually. Enrolled students have the right of access to Bienen School policies, regulations and degree requirements, and the responsibility to abide by these same policies. Changes to policy will be communicated to students via email. Printed copies of any regulation, policy or degree requirements are available upon request from the Office of Student Affairs. The Bienen School of Music reserves the right to make changes to these policies as needed.