Michael Ludwig Nemmers Prize in Music Composition

Steve Reich Awarded 2016 Nemmers Prize in Music Composition

In Fall 2004, the Henry and Leigh Bienen School of Music established the Michael Ludwig Nemmers Prize in Music Composition, a biennial award honoring classical music composers of outstanding achievement in a body of work and a unique creativity. Nominations are solicited worldwide. The winner is determined by a three-member selection committee, comprising individuals of widely recognized stature in the music community. The prize includes a cash award of $100,000, a performance by the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, and a residency of two to three non-consecutive weeks at the Bienen School of Music where the recipient interacts with faculty and students. On June 2, 2004, John Adams was named the inaugural winner of the Nemmers Prize in Music Composition. All winners are listed below. 

Winners of the Nemmers Prize

2016: Steve Reich

2014: Esa-Pekka Salonen

2012: Aaron Jay Kernis

2010: John Luther Adams

2008: Kaija Saariaho

2006: Oliver Knussen

2004: John Adams

The Michael Ludwig Nemmers Prize in Music Composition is made possible through a generous gift from the late Erwin E. Nemmers and Frederic E. Nemmers. Learn more about the Nemmers Prizes at Northwestern University

Nemmers Prize Criteria