Jean Gimbel Lane Prize in Piano Performance

In 2005, the Northwestern University Bienen School of Music established the biennial Jean Gimbel Lane Prize in Piano Performance to honor pianists who have achieved the highest levels of national and international recognition.  Winners receive a $50,000 cash award and spend two to three non-consecutive weeks in residence at the Bienen School of Music, interacting with students and faculty. As part of one of the residency weeks, winners offer a public performance. All winners are listed below.

Winners of the Jean Gimbel Lane Prize in Piano Performance

2016: Emanuel Ax

2014: Garrick Ohlsson

2012: Murray Perahia

2010: Yefim Bronfman

2008: Stephen Hough

2006: Richard Goode

The prize is made possible by a generous gift from Jean Gimbel Lane and the late Honorable Laurence W. Lane, Jr.  Jean Gimbel Lane is a 1952 graduate of Northwestern University who majored in art history.  Mrs. Lane noted, "Although I did not major in music at Northwestern, music has been an important part of my life for many years.”