At a Glance

Founded 1895
Location Twelve miles north of downtown Chicago
Deans Peter Christian Lutkin (1895-1928)
Carl Milton Beecher (1928-51)
George Howerton (1951-71)
Thomas W. Miller (1971-89)
Bernard J. Dobroski (1990-2003)
Toni-Marie Montgomery (2003-Present)
Faculty 125 (full and part-time) - meet our faculty
Students 410 undergraduate; 210 graduate
Regular Degree Programs Undergraduate and graduate degree programs in performance and academics, leading to the BM, BA, MM, DMA, or PhD
Special Degree Programs Five-year undergraduate dual degrees:
  • Music and Engineering (BS/BMus; BS/BAMus)
  • Music and Liberal Arts (BA/BMus)
  • Music and Journalism (BMus/BS or BAMus/BS)
  • Music and Communication (BM/BA, BM/BS, BAMus/BS)
  • Music and Education and Social Policy (BM/BS or BAMus/BS)
Fraternal and Professional Music Organizations
  • Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia
  • Sigma Alpha Iota
  • Pi Kappa Lambda
  • American String Teachers Association (ASTA)
  • Music Educators National Conference (MENC)
Professional Series
Recent Guests
  • John Adams, composer
  • John Luther Adams, composer
  • Vladimir Ashkenazy, conductor
  • Bang On A Can All-Stars
  • Anton Baranov, guitarist
  • Maya Beiser, cellist
  • Yefim Bronfman, pianist
  • Lawrence Brownlee, tenor
  • Chicago Jazz Orchestra
  • Chicago Symphony Orchestra Brass Quintet
  • Claire Chase, flutist
  • Dover Quartet
  • Paquito D'Rivera, saxophone
  • Marcin Dylla, guitarist
  • Kurt Elling, jazz singer
  • Ensemble Dal Niente
  • Ensemble Linea
  • A Far Cry Chamber Orchestra
  • Renée Fleming, soprano
  • Richard Goode, pianist
  • Denyce Graves, mezzo-soprano
  • Guarneri String Quartet
  • Lynn Harrell, cellist
  • Marilyn Horne, mezzo-soprano
  • Stephen Hough, pianist
  • International Contemporary Ensemble
  • Sharon Isbin, guitarist
  • Jasper Quartet
  • Alyce Johnson, flutist
  • Juilliard String Quartet
  • Aaron Jay Kernis, composer
  • Alexander Kobrin, pianist
  • Jennifer Koh, violin
  • Oliver Knussen, composer
  • Isabel Leonard, mezzo-soprano
  • Lincoln String Quartet
  • Los Angeles Guitar Quartet
  • Hugh Masekela, trumpeter
  • Gabriela Montero, pianist
  • Mark O'Connor, bluegrass fiddle
  • Matisse Trio
  • Garrick Ohlsson, pianist
  • Ursula Oppens, pianist
  • Orpheus Chamber Orchestra
  • Eric Owens, bass-baritone
  • Paco Peña, flamenco guitar
  • Susanna Phillips, soprano
  • Piffaro, early music ensemble
  • Matthew Polenzani, tenor
  • Menahem Pressler, pianist
  • Raphaella Smits and Adrien Brogna, guitarists
  • Regina Resnik, mezzo-soprano
  • Thomas Robertello, flutist
  • Julius Rudel, conductor
  • Kaija Saariaho, composer
  • Nadja Salerno-Sonnenberg, violin
  • Esa-Pekka Salonen, composer
  • Arturo Sandoval, jazz trumpeter, pianist, composer
  • Renata Scotto, soprano
  • Anoushka Shankar, sitar
  • James Austin Smith, oboist
  • Spektral Quartet
  • Frederica von Stade, mezzo-soprano
  • Janos Starker, cellist
  • Tokyo String Quartet
  • Shirley Verrett, mezzo-soprano
  • Ana Vidović, guitarist
  • Gilles Vonsattel, pianist
  • Pinchas Zukerman, conductor, violin, viola


Patrick G. and Shirley W. Ryan Center for the Musical Arts
  • 400-seat Mary B. Galvin Recital Hall
  • 120-seat David and Carol McClintock Choral and Recital Room
  • 163-seat Shirley Welsh Ryan Opera Theater
  • Teaching studios, faculty and administrative offices, classrooms, practice rooms, student lounges, Jean Gimbel Lane Reception Room 
  • Opened in 2015
  • Architect: Goettsch Partners
Regenstein Music Hall
  • 200-seat recital hall; studios and practice rooms
  • Built 1977
  • Architect: Larry Kirkegaard
Pick-Staiger Concert Hall
  • 1,003 seat auditorium, office-studies/rehearsal room
  • Built 1975
Music Library
  • Holds over 300,000 cataloged items
  • Known internationally for its post-1945 music
  • Special collections include the John Cage Collection, Fritz Reiner Library, Moldenhauer Archives, ONCE Archives, Ricordi Collection